Bengal byelection records 75 per cent polling; Stray incidents of violence
West Bengal

Bengal byelection records 75 per cent polling; Stray incidents of violence

Agency News

Kolkata, Nov 25: Barring a few stray incidents, byelection to three Assembly seats in Bengal passed off by and large peacefully, recording an estimated 75 per cent polling on Monday.

While Kaliagunj Assembly seat registered 77.79 per cent polling, Karimpur 81.23 per cent and Kharagpur 67.62 per cent. Meanwhile, senior BJP leader and party’s candidate for Karimpur Assembly seat in

Nadia district Jay Prakash Majumdar was allegedly heckled. Mr Majumdar came down heavily on the Trinamool Congress, alleging that the ruling party activists spearheaded the assault on him.

Addressing a press conference in New Delhi, BJP national spokesperson GVL Narasimha Rao said the party's candidate in Karimpur Assembly Jay Prakash Majumdar was attacked by "TMC goons". The manner in which Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is resorting to political violence to win the byelection smacked of her jitteriness and the Election Commission should take cognisance of it, he said.

BJP leader Mukul Roy has written to Election Commission about Karimpur violence. Hours after BJP candidate for Karimpur Assembly seat Jayprakash Majumdar was beaten up by miscreants near Jiyaghat Islampur primary school, BJP leader Mukul Roy has written a letter to Election Commission to draw its attention on the issue.

However, the Trinamool Congress denied the allegation. Trinamool Congress has lodged a complaint with district officials after BJP state president Dilip Ghosh who is not a voter stays in his residence in Kharagpur. Mr Ghosh stated that he has informed authorities of his stay. Meanwhile, the EC has sought a report about the incident.

Byelection is taking place to three Assembly seats of Kaliaganj in North Dinajpur, Kharagpur Sadar in West Midnapore and Karimpur in Nadia district under a tight security umbrella.

The Kaliaganj seat fell vacant following the death of sitting Congress MLA Pramatha Nath Ray on May 31, while byelections to the Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur seats were necessitated after sitting BJP MLA Dilip Ghosh and TMC’s Mahua Moitra were elected to the Lok Sabha from Midnapore and Krishnnanagar respectively. Counting will take place on November 28.

A three-pronged fight is on among the ruling Trinamool, BJP and the Congress-Left Front combine, which have decided to go for a seat-sharing arrangement in the coming elections. The Trinamool Congress has fielded Pradip Sarkar from Kharagpur Sadar, Bimalendu Singha Roy from Karimpur and Tapan Deb Singha from Kaliaganj.

Golam Rabbi, a lawyer by profession, from CPI(M) is the Left Front candidate from Karimpur Assembly seat.

The Congress is supporting Rabbi due to its alliance with the Left Front.

The Congress has fielded Dhitasri Roy for Kaliaganj and Chittaranjan Mondal for Kharagpur Assembly seats. BJP state vice-president Joy Prakash Majumder is the party candidate for the Karimpur Assembly seat, while Prem Chandra Jha is fighting from Kharagpur Sadar and Kamal Chandra Sarkar from Kaliaganj Assembly constituencies. (UNI)