ISKCON Rath Yatra from Jul 4 to 12
West Bengal

ISKCON Rath Yatra from Jul 4 to 12

Agency News

Mayapur, Jun 24 : The annual Jagannath Rath Yatra festival and fair will be celebrated with fervour and pomp at the global spiritual headquarters of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness, Sri Mayapur in Nadia district of West Bengal from July 4 to 12, Coordinator of Rath Yatra Committee Jagadhartia Das informed on Monday.

Three carts of Lord Jagannath, Baladev and Subhadra will be taken out on July 4 at 1.30 pm onwards from the ISKCON Rajapur temple and it will culminate at the main ISKCON Mayapur campus covering a distance of 6km. On the way the three decked up carts will pass through Bamanpukur, Balaldighi, Chand Kazi Samadhi, Sri Chaitanya MahaPrabhu Janmsthan.

For this year a huge Pandal depicting the Jagannath temple is being set up which will become the Gundicha temple, where the Lord of the Universe Jagannath will rest along with his siblings - Baladev and Subhadra for 9 days. "We have decided to distribute Chappan Bhog Jagannath Maha Prasadam for free to anyone who visits to take darshan of Jagannath during these 9 days " added Jagadhartia Das. Devotees from 80 countries are expected to participate this year.

" Considering the mammoth crowd that Rath Yatra at Mayapur pulls every year we have made elaborate security arrangements and also plan to set up medical booths on the way to take care of people in case of any emergency, " said Subroto Das, Media Spokesperson of ISKCON Mayapur.

The festival commemorates the annual journey of Lord Jagannath, Lord Baladev, and their sister Subhadra to their aunt’s place, the Gundicha Temple and anyone who gets the opportunity to pull their cart on way is bestowed with the benediction of washing away all the sins.

The Rath Yatra was first celebrated by ISKCON in San Francisco in the year 1967 by His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Srila Prabhupada, founder Acharya of ISKCON and currently it is being organised in more than 1000 centres across the world.(UNI)