Bypoll begins peacefully in Nowda and Kandi
West Bengal

Bypoll begins peacefully in Nowda and Kandi

Agency News

Kolkata, May 20: Bypoll to two assembly seats of Murshidabad district's Nowda and Kandi began peacefully amid tight security.

Polling progressed in 517 booths with no report of untoward incident so far. Nearly, 2500 poll personnel have been engaged to conduct voting up to 6pm. The seats fell vacant after former Congress legislators Apurba Sarkar and Abu Taher Khan resigned and switched over their allegiance to ruling Trinamool Congress and contested the just concluded Lok Sabha poll from Baharampur and Murshidabad respectively.

TMC candidate Gautam Roy is contesting from Kandi and seeking his luck against Congress nominee Safiul Alam Khan and BJP's Sanat Mondal.
In Nowda TMC candidate Sahina Mumtaj is vying against Congress aspirant Sunil Mondal and BJP's Anupam Mondal and RSP's Sirajul Islam Mondal.
Meanwhile, trouble cropped up for the second successive day at Kakinara under Bhatpara assembly segment where violent clashes took place during bypoll on Sunday. An irate mob blocked Kakinara railway station disrupting normal services between Sealdah and Krishnanagar stations of Eastern Railway this morning.

The mob staged protest demonstration on the track to focus random bombing at Kakinara where on Sunday afternoon two boys sustained injuries. (UNI)