BJP fields muslim candidate from Jangipur for LS poll
West Bengal

BJP fields muslim candidate from Jangipur for LS poll

Agency News

Kolkata, Mar 23 : The Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) on Saturday fielded one Muslim woman, Mahfuza Khatun from Jangipur constituency, for the coming Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal.

Mahfuza, who left the CPI(M) to join the BJP recently, is the first Muslim candidate announced by the BJP so far. Mahfuza was elected MLA from South Dinajpur’s Kumarganj Assembly constituency on CPI(M)’s ticket in 2001 and 2006.

But in the next two Assembly elections, that is, in 2011 and 2016, she lost to Trinamool candidate. The defeat margin in 2016 was just around 3,000 votes.

She switched over to BJP at the party’s state headquarters in Kolkata. BJP state president Dilip Ghosh handed over her the saffron flag.After joining the saffron party, Mahfuza said she has been moved by Narendra Modi government’s push for abolition of triple talaq and hence, decided to join the saffron party.

The former CPI(M) MLA said, “Narendra Modi is the first Prime Minister of India who has listened to the cries of Muslim women and is trying hard to end their travails. I want to be part of his fight against such evil practice, want to be part of the development work that he is carrying out, and hence, I have joined BJP.”

Earlier,the BJP on Sunday last announced the first list of 28 candidates for the coming Lok Sabha election in West Bengal.

The candidates are John Barla from Alipurduars (ST), Deboshree Chaudhury from Raiganj,Anupam Hazra from Jadavpur, Chandra Kumar Bose form Kolkata Dakshin,Rahul Sinha from Kolkata Uttar,Dilip Ghosh from Medinipur, Tapan Roy from Arambag, Sayantan Basu from Basirhat, Jayanta Ray from Jalpaiguri, Sukanta Majumdar from Balurghat, Nisith Pramanik from Cooch Behar, Khagen Murmu from Maldaha Uttar, Sreerupa Mitra Choudhury from Maldaha Dakshin, Kalyan Chowbey from Krishnanagar, Arjun Singh from Barrackpore, Samik Bhattacharya from Dumdum, Dr Mrinal Kanthi Debnath from Barasat, Ashok Kandan from Jaynagar (SC), Shyamaprasad Halder from Mathurapur (SC), Debajit Sarkar from Serampore, Locket Chaterjee from Hooghly, Siddarth Naskar from Tamluk, Bharati Ghosh from Ghatal, Dr Kunar Hembram from Jhargram (ST), Soumitra Kha from Bishnupur, Paresh Chandra Das from Bardhaman Purba (SC), Babul Supriyo from Asansol and Dudh Kumar Mondal from Birbhum.

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and continue for over a month till May 19 across seven phases, followed by counting of votes on May 23. The polling will be held on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19 for 543 Lok Sabha seats across the country in which nearly 90 crore voters will be eligible to vote.UNI