BJP’s first list out with no big surprise for LS poll
West Bengal

BJP’s first list out with no big surprise for LS poll

Agency News

Kolkata, Mar 22 : After a long delay and much mulling over, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has finally declared the first list of 28 candidates for the coming Lok Sabha election in West Bengal.

The long drawn suspense on the name of the official BJP candidate was cleared on Sunday evening with no big surprises. BJP has mostly relied on experienced hands and some of the leaders who have come to the party from other parties.

There were reports that a top actress would be fielded against Mimi Chakraborty from Jadavpur and an eminent fashion designer will get ticket from one of the two seats in Kolkata. But finally BJP has gone for people who have worked on the ground.Out of 28 candidates declared in first list, three have recently joined the party from the Trinamool Congress(TMC) and one has joined BJP from the CPI(M).

Soumitra Khan from Bishnupur, Anupam Hazra from Jadavpur, Khagen Murmu from North Malda and Arjun Singh from Barrackpore.The list of 28 came after top leaders examined four rival lists of candidates sent to Delhi from Kolkata, one by Dilip Ghosh, the other by former Trinamool leader Mukul Roy, third by the party organisation and a fourth list by a private company tasked with finding the best bet without fear or political favour, say sources.

In the list as expected, Union Minister of State for Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises Babul Supriyo who is currently the sitting MP from the Asansol constituency will contest from the same seat.

He will fighting against TMC sitting MP from Bankura Moon Moon Sen. After making her cinematic debut in 1984, Sen began a second career in politics thirty years later. (UNI)