UP DGP OP Singh retires; H C Awasthi made interim DGP
Uttar Pradesh

UP DGP OP Singh retires; H C Awasthi made interim DGP

Agency News

Lucknow, Jan 31: Uttar Pradesh Director General of Police (DGP) O P Singh retired on Friday.

The state government has yet to announce his successor. In the absence of any final decision, the Government asked Mr Singh to hand over his charge to senior most IPS officer in the state, DG Vigilance, HC Awasthi, an IPS officer of 1985 batch, naming him as officiating DG till further order. Subsequently, Mr Awasthi also took charge later in the evening.

Interestingly, the government also failed to decide any name for the chief secretary post and presently, RK Tewari, is officiating on the post since September last. Sources said that once after a panel of three IPS officers, to be named as DGP, will be sent to state government by the Union Public Service Commission, the government would have made some changes as of now on all the three top administrative posts in the State—Chief Secretary, DGP, and additional chief secretary home – all the officers belonging to Brahmin community were posted.

Meanwhile, OP Singh was given a ceremonial send-off on Friday morning. Mr Singh has had an eventful tenure and will be remembered for introducing the police commissionerate system in two districts of the state. He also has the credit of ensuring peace in the state after the Supreme Court verdict on Ayodhya temple, and the incident-free Kumbh Mela.

Meanwhile, IG Amitabh Thakur has raised question over discrimination made in organising the farewell ceremony organised on retirement of three same grade officers. In a social media comments, Mr Thakur said that on January 31, three officers all of same rank were retiring from service but they will be given a farewell separately.

He mentioned that farewell of DG (Special Enquiry) Mahendra Modi was fixed for the night of January 31, but the same for DGP OP Singh has been fixed for February 1. He claimed that the farewell of third DG (Intelligence), Bhawesh Kumar was also fixed for January 31 but now he had no information about his farewell party. Thakur questioned over discrimination when all the three officers are of same rank and also retired on the same day. (UNI)