BJP retains Hamirpur Assembly seat in bypolls
Uttar Pradesh

BJP retains Hamirpur Assembly seat in bypolls

Agency News

Hamirpur, Sep 27 : BJP candidate Yuvraj Singh won the Hamirpur Assembly bypoll in Uttar Pradesh on Friday, by a margin of around 18,000 votes, defeating his nearest rival, SP nominee Manoj Prajapati, in a four-cornered contest.

Official sources said the winner BJP candidate received 74,168 votes. While his rival SP got 56,397 votes. BSP candidate Naushad Ali got 28,749 votes and Congress received 16,083 votes. UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has thanked the voters for the landslide victory of the BJP in Hamirpur seat.

He also thanked the party workers and leaders for work, in enabling this win. The counting of votes for the bypolls commenced on Friday morning at 8am amid tight security arrangements.

In the bypolls held on September 23, around 51 per cent of the over four lakh voters had exercised their franchise, which was incident-free amid marred by rains and poll boycott. The bypoll was required after BJP member Ashok Singh Chandel was disqualified after being convicted in a murder case. (UNI)