MBCs status to SC in UP: SBSP slams BJP for fooling people
Uttar Pradesh

MBCs status to SC in UP: SBSP slams BJP for fooling people

Agency News

Lucknow, Jul 3: After the Centre opposed the move of Yogi Adityanath government for giving Schedule Caste (SC) status to 17 Most Backward Class communities, Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party chief Om Prakash Rajbhar accused the Yogi Adityanath-led BJP government of 'fooling' people, as the matter was sub-judice.

Taking to micro-blogging site Twitter, the former minister in Uttar Pradesh government posted, ''Will the UP Government clarify further on the benefits that the MBCs will get after the order issuing SC certificates to 17 MBCs? ''When the matter is still sub-judice in court, why is the government fooling people by issuing certificates in a way that is unconstitutional? Also, the government is opening recruitment in various departments; they should first clarify if these MBCs will get quota under MBC or SC?''

Earlier, BSP chief Mayawati had attacked the state government over the issue.
''It's a fraud with people belonging to these 17 castes, as they won't receive the benefits of any of the categories. The UP government will not treat them as OBCs. They won't receive the benefits of SC, as no state government can put them in or remove them from any of the categories, through its orders,'' Ms Mayawati had said.

The Centre had, on Tuesday, declared the decision by UP Government to issue Scheduled Caste certificates to 17 MBCs, as 'unconstitutional'.
Thawar Chand Gehlot, Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment, assured the Rajya Sabha that he would request the UP government to take back its decision, since it has been declared invalid by a court of law.

A day has passed after the announcement of the Union Minister in Parliament, but UP government was yet to respond.None of the government Spokespersons or the officials gave any reaction to the Union Minister's objection.

The UP government had decided to implement a 2017 order of the Allahabad High Court, to issue SC certificates to 17 MBCs in the state. The government had directed the District Magistrates to issue SC certificates to MBCs, till the High Court takes a final call on the issue.

The demand for SC status to the 17 castes: Kashyap, Rajbhar, Dhivar, Bind, Kumar, Kahar, Kewat, Nishad, Bhar, Mallah, Prajapati, Dhivar, Batham, Turha, Godia, Manjul and Madhua, has now been pending for a long time.

Under the Chief Ministership of Mulayam Singh Yadav, the Samajwadi Party government had first tried to implement the order in 2006. Mayawati followed suit, during her regime from 2007-2012. However, the idea was vetoed by the Centre. (UNI)