UP: Notification for seventh phase on Monday
Uttar Pradesh

UP: Notification for seventh phase on Monday

Agency News

Lucknow, Apr 21 : The nominations for the seventh and last phase polls in Uttar Pradesh in 13 Lok Sabha seats, including the VVIP Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Ghazipur, Chandauli and Mirzapur, will commence from Monday after issuance of notification by the Election Commission.

The polling of the final phase of elections will be held on May 19.

The fate of Union Minister Manoj Sinha (Ghazipur), Union minister and Apna Dal (sonelal) founder Aunpriya Patel (Mirzapur), UP BJP president Dr Mahendra Nath Pandey (Chandauli), Bhojpuri actor and BJP candidate Ravi Kishan (Gorakhpur) will be decided in this phase.

EC sources here on Sunday said that the nomination in the phase will continue till April 29 and scrutiny of the papers would be done on the next day. Candidates can withdraw their nominations till May 2. The polling of the seventh phase would be held on May 19 between 0700 hrs to 1800 hrs.

The constituencies going to polls in the seventh phase are: Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria, Basgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur and Robertsganj.

In the seventh phase of polls, a total of 2.32 crore electorates, including 1.26 crore males and 1.06 crore females along with 1416 third gender voter are expected to cast their votes in 13,979 booths.

The counting of votes for all the 80 Lok Sabha seats in UP will be taken up on May 23.