Campaigning picks up in UP; to conclude tomorrow
Uttar Pradesh

Campaigning picks up in UP; to conclude tomorrow

Agency News

Lucknow, Apr 15 : Amid scorching heat, campaigning for the second phase of elections in eight Lok Sabha seats of Western Uttar Pradesh on April 18, intensified and will end on Tuesday evening.

First phase of elections held on April 11, had witnessed a dip against 2014 polls.

The second phase polls in UP will decide the fate of Bollywood dreamgirl Hema Malani from Mathura, UP Congress president and another Bollywood actor Raj Babbar from Fatehpur Sikri and UP minister S P Singh Baghel from Agra( reserved) seats.

BJP led the campaigning in this phase too, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi holding two meetings--at Amroha on April 5 and at Aligarh on Sunday.

Party president Amit Shah also held a couple of meetings in this phase, while UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath criss-crossed the region heading several rallies on a daily basis along with other senior leaders.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh will campaign in Nagina, Aonla, Agra and Fatehpur Sikri on Monday.

However, the the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), along with their partners Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), organised a joint rally in Badaun on Saturday in a massive show of unity to launch their campaigning. Akhilesh Yadav’s SP and Mayawati’s BSP, along with the Rashtriya Lok Dal, are contesting the Lok Sabha polls together.

The Congress will also hold three rallies on Monday. President Rahul Gandhi, general secretary in charge of eastern Uttar Pradesh Priyanka Gandhi Vadra will jointly address and rally with Jyotiraditya Scindia in Fatehpur Sikri.

The campaigning for the second phase will end on Tuesday evening where polling will be held on April 18 between 0700 hrs and 1800 hrs.

In the second phase, the eight seats going to polls are - Nagina, Amroha, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Hatras, Mathura, Agra and Fatehpur Sikri. All the seats are currently held by the BJP.

In most of the seats there is a direct fight between the grand alliance (BSP-SP and RLD) and the BJP, but presence of Congress in some seats has made the contest triangular, giving an 'edge' to the BJP.

A total of 1,40,76,635 voters - 75,83,431 males and 64,92,326 females along with 878 third gender are eligible to cast their votes in 16,162 booths to decide the fate of 85 candidates in the fray.

Of these candidates, 14 have heinous crime against them while 41 are crorepatis. Bollywood star and BJP candidate from Mathura Hema Malani tops the list of the crorepatis with an asset of Rs 250 crore followed by BJP's Amroha candidate Kanwar Singh Tanwar of Rs 182 crore and third Congress candidate from Mathura Mahesh Pathak of Rs 35 crores. The average asset of the BJP candidates is Rs 59 crore, Congress-- Rs 10 crore and BSP is Rs 9 crore.

The highest numbers of 15 candidates are in the fray from Fatehpur Sikri seat, followed by 14 in Aligarh, 13 in Mathura, 10 in Amroha, 9 each in Bulandshahr and Agra, 8 in Hatras and lowest 7 in Nagina. (UNI)