Notification for fifth phase polls issued in UP
Uttar Pradesh

Notification for fifth phase polls issued in UP

Agency News

Lucknow, Apr 10 : The nominations for the fifth phase polls in Uttar Pradesh in 14 Lok Sabha seats, including Amethi, Rae Bareli, Lucknow and Faizabad, commenced from Wednesday after issuance of notification by the Election Commission.
The polling for the fifth phase of elections will be held on May 6.
The fate of Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh (Lucknow), Congress president Rahul Gandhi (Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli) will be decided in this phase along with Faizabad, the religious epic center of the country.
Former Union minister Jitin Prasada (Dhaurara) and former UP Congress president Nirmal Khatri( Faizabad) will also try their luck in this phase.
EC sources here on Wednesday said that the nominations for the phase will continue till April 18 and scrutiny of the papers would be done on April 20. Candidates can withdraw their nominations till April 22. The polling for the fifth phase would be held on May 6 between 0700 hrs to 1800 hrs.
The constituencies going to polls in the fifth phase are: Dhaurara, Sitapur, Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Bahriach, Kaiserganj and Gonda.
In the fifth phase of polls, a total of 2,47,09,515 electorate, including 1,14,48,883 female voters will cast their votes at 28,072 booths.
The notification for the sixth phase of polls in 14 seats would be issued on April 16 and of the seventh and last phase in 13 seats on April 22.