EC declares polling in 168 constituencies in Tripura (West) ‘void’

EC declares polling in 168 constituencies in Tripura (West) ‘void’

Agency News

New Delhi, May 8: After opposition parties alleged massive booth capturing and false voting, the Election Commission on Wednesday ordered re-polling in 168 polling stations in 26 assembly constituencies of Tripura (West) constituency.

The re-polling will be held on May 12 as part of the sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls. "After taking all material circumstances into account, the Election Commission declared under Sub-Sections (2) of Section 58 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 that the poll taken on April 11, 2019, at 168 polling stations in 1-Tripura West parliamentary constituency against the assembly segments to be void and appoints May 12 at the date and fix hours from 0700 hours to 1700 hours for taking a fresh poll," an official statement said.

The assembly segments in Tripura West are Simna (ST), Mohanpur, Bamutia (SC), Barjala (SC), Khayerpur, Ramnagar, Town Bordowali, Majlishpur, Mandai Bazar, Takarjala (ST), Pratapgarh (SC), Badharghat (SC), Kamalasagar, Bishalgarh, Golghati, Charilam, Boxanagar, Nalchar, Sonamura, Dhanpur, Bagma (ST), Radhakishorepur, Matabari, Kakraban-Salgarah (SC), Rajnagar (SC) and Belonia.

Tripura has two Parliamentary constituencies Tripura (West), Tripura (East) - and the polls were held in two phases - on April 11 and 18.

However, opposition parties, CPI(M) and the Congress had approached Election Commission and filed complaints against ruling BJP for booth capturing, violence and intimidation in the elections held in Tripura (West) constituency, and demanded re-poll.

The CPI(M) had alleged malpractices and booth capturing happened on April 11 and demanded re-polling in 774 booths of the 1679 booths in the Tripura West constituency. Earlier, the poll body had deferred polling in the Tripura East Lok Sabha seat in the third phase to April 23 from April 18, citing prevailing law-and-order situation was not conducive for holding election. (UNI)