12 Cong MLAs urge Speaker to merge CLP with TRS

12 Cong MLAs urge Speaker to merge CLP with TRS

Agency News

Hyderabad, Jun 6: In a big jolt to the Congress, 12 MLAs from the party met Speaker P Srinivas Reddy on Thursday and submitted a memorandum to him to merge their legislature party with the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS).
The 12 MLAs presented the memorandum jointly signed by them to the Speaker in this regard and later went to the Pragathi Bhavan, the camp office-cum-official residence of TRS supremo and Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao.
It may be recalled that in the Assembly election held in December last, the Congress won 19 seats and with the resignation of TPCC President Uttam Kumar Reddy after his election to Lok Sabha who had won, the total number of Congress MLAs came down to 18.

After 11 Congress MLAs had officially announced their intention to join the TRS in the recent past, it will require 12 MLAs (two-thirds of the total party MLAs) to merge the defected MLAs with TRS.

Earlier on Thursday, Congress MLA from Tandur Rohit Reddy decided to jump on to the TRS bandwagon.
Political observers feel that with the joining of Reddy, the TRS-CLP merger process may start.