LS Polls : KCR to kick-start election campaign from Mar 19

LS Polls : KCR to kick-start election campaign from Mar 19

Agency News

Hyderabad, Mar 11: Even as the opposition parties are still struggling to finalise their candidates for the Lok Sabha elections slated on April 11, TRS supremo and Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao has decided to launch a hectic, high-voltage election campaign from March 19.

Mr Rao has chosen March 19 to start his electioneering from Nizamabad district. According to party sources, Mr Rao will make a whirlwind tour of all the state, to campaign for the coming LS polls.
Though it was announced on Sunday that polls in Telangana would be held on April 11, political parties, including TRS, BJP and Congress had got into the campaign mode, even before the announcement.

TRS Party Working President KT Rama had already began his meetings with senior leaders and party workers at the Lok Sabha constituency level and he has so far held party worker meetings in Karimnagar, Medak, Chevella and Malkajgiri districts. BJP National President Amit Shah had kicked off the election campaign meeting in Nizamabad on March 6 by addressing booth level workers of Adilabad, Nizamabad, karimnagar, Zaheerbad and Medak Lok Sabha constituencies while AICC President Rahul Gandhi also launched election campaign at Shamshabad in the city by addressing booth level workers on Saturday last (March 9).

There are 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana and the ruling TRS party with an understanding with with MIM, has set itself an ambition target win 16 and Hyderabad MP seat is left for his friendly party MIM, which is expected to retain its seat.

According to TRS party sources, the party has decided candidates to 10 LS constituencies and the remaining candidates will be decided later.
In 2014 elections, Of the 17 seats in Telangana, TRS won 11 seats, Congress won two while MIM, YSRCP, TDP and BJP bagged one each.

In the recent Assembly elections held in December, 2018, the ruling TRS got full majority in the polls and congress won 19 and BJP bagged only one seat.UNI