TRS sweeps Assembly polls: KCR wins and how

TRS sweeps Assembly polls: KCR wins and how

Agency News

Hyderabad, Dec 11 : KCR's gamble has paid off. As his party swept the Assembly elections, decimating the Indian National Congress-led Opposition, Telangana caretaker Chief Minister and Telangana Rashtra Samiti supremo Kalvakuntla Chandrashekhar Rao (popularly known as KCR), retained the Gajwel seat by an overwhelming margin.

KCR, sworn in as the first Chief Minister of the 29th state of the nation, Telangana on June, 2014, had called early elections. Born to Raghavar Rao and Venkatamma in a village named Chintamadaka in Medak district on February 17, 1954, KCR tied the knot with Shobha, daughter of a freedom fighter, J Keshava Rao, from Kodurpaaka, on April 23, 1969 and bears two children.

His son, KT Rama Rao, is also a legislator from Sirisilla, Karimnagar district while his daughter Kalvakuntla Kavitha is a Member of Parliament from Nizamabad.

KCR, who completed his Masters in Telugu Literature from O.U. Arts College Osmania University, Hyderabad, started his political career in 1970s with the youth Congress party in Medak district, led by Sanjay Gandhi, son of legendary INC politician Indira Gandhi.

He went on to join Telugu Desam Party led by actor-politician NT Rama Rao and contested against A Madan Mohan. KCR lost that election. From 1985 to 1999, KCR won four consecutive Assembly elections from Siddipet. During 1987–1988, he served as Minister of Drought and Relief in NTR’s ministry.

In 1990, he was appointed as TDP convener for Medak, Nizamabad, and Adilabad districts. In 1996, he was appointed Transport minister in Chandrababu Naidu’s council. He also served from 2000–2001 as the deputy speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly .

On April 27, 2001, KCR resigned as Deputy Speaker and TDP as well.

KCR stood for the people of the Telangana region who were being discriminated against. He believed that a separate Telangana state was the only solution. In April 2001, he formed the Telangana Rashtra Samithi at Jala Drushyam, Hyderabad, to agitate for Telangana statehood.

During the elections of 2004, KCR won from the Siddipet assembly segment and also the Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency, both on the TRS ticket. The TRS fought the 2004 general elections in alliance with the Indian National Congress which promised to grant statehood for Telangana. KCR was one of the five TRS candidates returned as MPs.

TRS was part of the United Progressive Alliance coalition government, led by Congress. He went on to become a Union Cabinet minister of Labour and Employment in the United Progressive Alliance government at the Centre with his party colleague Aelay Narendra who became minister of Rural Development and Jannu Jakaraiah as Chairman for National Minimum Wages Advisory Board.

The party later withdrew from the coalition, affirming that the alliance was not minded to support a separate Telangana state. KCR resigned as MP in 2006 on a challenge of Congress and won by a landslide of more than 2,00,000 votes. Again, he resigned as MP during the agitation for Telangana.

In 2009, he won from the Mahbubnagar Lok Sabha constituency. The TRS party fought the general elections as part of the opposition coalition led by Telegu Desam Party. KCR was elected in 2014 as MLA from Gajwel Assembly segment of Medak district of Telangana state by a margin of 19,218 votes and as MP from Medak Lok Sabha constituency by 3,97,029 ballots on 16 May that same year.

In Telangana, the TRS, which led the campaign for a separate state for more than a decade, emerged victorious by winning 11 of the 17 Lok Sabha seats and 63 of the 119 Assembly seats, and emerged as the party with the largest vote share. On June 2, 2014, the 64-year-old was sworn in as the first chief minister of the Telangana state. Elected eight times as TRS president, KCR's welfare programmes are aimed at a revival of the rural economy and focused on the development of each community. (UNI)