Four spl trains to run in TN from June 1
Tamil Nadu

Four spl trains to run in TN from June 1

S Murari

Tamil Nadu, May 23, 2020 : The Southern Railway has decided to run four special non-ac express trains to link cities and towns in Tamil Nadu from June 1, excluding Chennai as it has a high incidence of Covid cases.

The southern Railway has forwarded the request made by the State Government to the Railway Board for running these intercity expresses which will be truncated because of exclusion of Chennai.

The Coimbatore-Chennai inter-city express will terminate at Katpadi. The Madurai-Chennai Vaigai Express will run upto Villupuram. The Coimbatore- Mayiladuthurai Jan Shatabdi will now be resumed.

The Tiruchi-Thiruvananthapuram superfast express will now go from Nagercoil to Trichy.

As Chennai is in the red zone and public transport remains suspended for nearly two months, there is no way a resident of the city can go to any of the cities and towns. Even if he has a car, he will have to get an epass to travel through various districts, a cumbersome process.