Six elected to RS from TN
Tamil Nadu

Six elected to RS from TN

S Murari

Six candidates - three from the DMK, two from the AIADMK and one from the Tamil Manila Congress - were on Wednesday declared elected to the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu by Assembly Secretary and returning officer K Srinivasan.

As there were only six in the field for as many seats on the last date for withdrawal, they were declared elected unopposed, he said.

Among them, Tiruchi K Siva of the DMK is getting a fourth term while TMC chief and former Congressman G K Vasan is entering the Upper House after a gap of six years to serve his third term.

Another prominent member is former Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai who has been picked by the AIADMK as he lost in the last Lok Sabha polls from his Kurur constituency.

Other winners are K P Munuswamy ( AIADMK) who like Thambidurai lost in Krishnagiri in the last Lok Sabha polls, Anthiyur Selvaraj and N R Ilango (DMK).

The BJP has got representation from Tamil Nadu from AIADMK defector Sasikala Pushpa.

With these biennial elections, the strength of the DMK in the Rajya Sabha has gone up to seven while that of the AIADMK has come down to 9 from 11.