AIADMK edges out DMK in local body chairmen posts
Tamil Nadu

AIADMK edges out DMK in local body chairmen posts


The ruling AIADMK has edged out the opposition DMK in the indirect election to the posts of district panchayat presidents and panchayat union chairpersons by ward councilors on Saturday.

According to final tally available now, the AIADMK has won in 13 and the DMK in 12 in 27 districts where these elections were held. THE Pattali Makkal Katchil, ally of the AIADMK has won in Salem, the home district of Chief Minister Edappadi K Palanisami .

Indirect election was put off in one district, Sivaganga, after a tie between the two parties. The tally includes the two main Dravidian.

The AIADMK gained an edge after a DMK ward councilor along with two independents switched over to it in Ooty panchayat union. Otherwise, it would have been 13 each.

The tally includes alliance partners of both the parties.

In terms of posts, the AIADMK has won 140 panchayat union chairperson posts out of a total of 287. Its allies BJP and the PMK have won in three and seven places respectively. The DMK won 125 unions, the Congress five and CPI three. Of the remaining two, one was won by Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam and an independent.

The AIADMK has won 94 out of 273 vice chairmen posts. Its allies PMK has won 19, DMDK of actor Vijayakanth seven and BJP four. In the rival camp, the DMK has won 107, Congress eight and CPI three.

The AMMK has won five posts . One post has been won by Social Democratic Party( a Muslim outfit) and 25 have gone to independents.