AIADMK takes lead in Vikravandi, narrow  lead in Nanguneri
Tamil Nadu

AIADMK takes lead in Vikravandi, narrow lead in Nanguneri

Agency News

AIADMK candidates are leading in Vikravandi and Nanguneri bypolls. In Vikravandi, AIADMK candidate MR Muthamizhselvan is maintaining clear lead while in Nanguneri, AIADMK candidate Rettiyarpatti V Narayanan is having only a narrow margin lead.

Counting for the Tamil Nadu byelections which were held in Nanguneri and Vikravandi on Monday commenced at 8 am on Thursday. The results of the election will be a catapult for the parties during the Tamil Nadu elections in 2021.

The election saw a major battle between the AIADMK and DMK in Vikravandi, with MR Muthamizhselvan, the AIADMK secretary of Kanai Union in the Villupuram district unit going up against N Pugazhendhi, the party treasurer for DMK’s Villupuram district unit.

In Nanguneri, the election was contested between the ruling AIADMK and DMK’s ally, Congress, with Rettiyarpatti V Narayanan contesting for AIADMK against Congress’ candidate R Manoharan.