DMK names candidate for Vikhravandi bypoll
Tamil Nadu

DMK names candidate for Vikhravandi bypoll

Agency News

The DMK on Tuesday fielded its Villupuram district secretary N Pugazhendi for the by-election to the Tamil Nadu Assembly slated to be held on Oct 21.  Pugazhendi (66) has been with the DMK since 1973.

The DMK has left to the Congress the Nanguneri seat where also a by-election is due.

The Vikhravnadi seat had fallen vacant following the death of sitting DMK member Radhamani last June.

The Nanguneri seat was vacated by sitting member and billionaire businessman and senior Congress leader H Vasanth Kumar upon his election to the Lok Sabha last May from Kanyakumkari.

Nanguneri in neighbouring Tirunelveli district is an Assembly segment in that Lok Sabha constituency.

The ruling AIADMK has announced it will both contest the seats and brushed the feeble plea made by former Union Minister Pon Radhakrishan to leave Nangeneri to the BJP .

Its leader and former AIADMK Minister and present BJP leader Nainar Nagendran hails from Tirunelveli and he  has sizable influence in the constituency.

Though the AIADMK has been toeing the Modi Government’s line in Parliament, has blamed its rout in the May elections to alliance with the BJP.   It can, however, count on the support of its ally Pattali Makkal Katchi as it has its base among Vanniars who are predominant in Vikhramandi.

Breakaway AIADMK leader and Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhgam chief T T V Dinakaran has said his party will not contest as it is yet to get a symbol .

Makkal Needhi Maiyam leader and film star Kamal Hassan has also stayed, saying by-elections are an arena where two kazhagams tussle for power.

His party drew blank the last Lok Sabha elections and 22 Assembly elections in April. Kamal has said his party has set its sight on the next Assembly elections due in 2021.