RS Polls: Vaiko’s nomination accepted
Tamil Nadu

RS Polls: Vaiko’s nomination accepted

Agency News

Chennai, July 9: MDMK General Secretary Vaiko is all set to re-enter Parliament after a long gap as his nomination papers for the July 18 biennial elections to Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu was accepted during scrutiny on Tuesday.

There were doubts about his papers were being rejected in the wake of a Special court convicting him for one year in a sedition case. However, his papers were accepted by the Returning Officer and Assembly Secretary K Srinivasan. 'I am confident that my nomination will be accepted', Mr Vaiko told reporters here. The MDMK was allotted one seat as per of the seat sharing pact by the DMK and Mr Vaiko filed his papers on Saturday along with the two DMK nominees, M Shanmugham, General Secretary of LPF and advocate P Wilson.

Mr Vaiko had earlier served as a DMK Rajya Sabha member from 1978 to 1996. Since there were doubts about his nomination being rejected following his conviction, the DMK has fielded Advocate N R Elango as the alternative candidate and he too filed his papers yesterday.

Mr Vaiko said once his papers were accepted Mr Elango will be withdrawing his nomination on July 11, the last date for withdrawals. Similarly, the nomination of two AIADMK canidates, former Minister A Mohammed John and N Chandrasekaran, and that of the two other DMK nominees, and former Union Minister Anbumani Ramadoss of PMK, which was allotted one seat by the AIADMK, were also expected to be accepted.

As per its strength, the AIADMK, which has 123 MLAs could win three seats from the Tamil Nadu Assembly. The DMK, which has 101 MLAs in the 234-member Assembly, could also win three seats, as each candidate needed the support of 34 MLAs each. Its ally the Congress has seven MLAs, while two seats were vacant and another one was an Independent.

The election was being held to fill up the vacancies following the retirement of five members--T Rathinavel, V Maitreyan, K B Arjunan, R Lakshmanan (all AIADMK), D Raja (CPI)--and due to the resignation of DMK's Kanimozhi following her election to the Lok Sabha. Elections, if necessary, would be held on July 18 and counting would be taken up the same day. (UNI)