Ambumani Ramadoss files papers for RS polls
Tamil Nadu

Ambumani Ramadoss files papers for RS polls

S Murari

Pattali Makkal Katchi(PMK) youth wing leader and former Union Minister Anbumani Ramadoss on Monday filed his nomination to the Tamil Nadu Assembly Secretary for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha to fill six vacancies.

Anbumani filed his papers with the support of the ruling AIADMK which has given one of the three seats it can win on the basis of the strength in the Assembly. Two other AIADMK candidates, its minority wing joint secretary and former Minister Mohammed Jan and Mettur town secretary Chandrasekharan, also filed their nomination. Chief Minister Edappadi K Palanisami accompanied the candidates when they filed their papers.

The DMK, which has given one of the three  seats it can win to Marumalarchi DMK, on Monday fielded senior advocate Ilangovan as a standby candidate in case MDMK general secretary Vaiko’s nomination is rejected on the basis of his conviction in a sedition case by a special court in Chennai.

The DMK’s official candidates senior advocate P Wilson and trade union leader M Shanmugham have already filed their nomination. Elections if necessary will be held on July 18. Most likely all six are expected to be elected unopposed given the composition of the House where the AIADMK and the DMK together account for over 222 out of the 234 members.