AIADMK, DMK retain candidates for Vellore LS seat
Tamil Nadu

AIADMK, DMK retain candidates for Vellore LS seat

Agency News

Chennai, July 6 (UNI) Both the ruling AIADMK and the Opposition DMK on Saturday retained the same candidates for the August five elections to the Vellore Lok Sabha seat, which was earlier rescinded by the Election Commission following seizure of large sums of money.In a statement here, AIADMK Coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and Joint Coordinator and Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami said New Justice Party Chief A C Shanmugham is the candidate of the AIADMK-BJP-led Front, that included PMK, DMDK, TMC, Puthiya Tamizhagam.

They said he would contest under the AIADMK's Two Leaves symbol.Meanwhile, DMK President M K Stalin, in a release, said T M Kathir Anand is the party nominee for the Vellore seat.

Anand is the son of former Minister and DMK Treasurer Duraimurugan.The election for Vellore seat was earlier scheduled for April 18, but it was countermanded following seizure of large sums of money, allegedly meant for distribution to the voters, from the premises of Kathir Anand and a DMK functionary, by the Income-Tax officials.

The DMK-led front, which comprised Congress, MDMK, CPI, CPI(M), VCK and IUML won 37 of the 38 Lok Sabha seats for which elections were held. The AIADMK-led combine managed to win a lone seat, with its Theni LS nominee Rajendra Kumar, who is son of Mr Panneerselvam, emerging victor defeating former Union Minister EVKS Elangovan of Congress.(UNI)