All set for crucial bypoll to 4 Assembly seats in TN
Tamil Nadu

All set for crucial bypoll to 4 Assembly seats in TN

Agency News

Chennai, May 18 : The stage is set for the bypoll to key four Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu tomorrow.

Apart from bypolls, repolling would also be held in 13 booths in Dharmapuri, Erode, Tiruvallur, Cuddalore Lok Sadha seats as part of the last phase of the elections. The bypolls would be held for Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram (R), Sulur and Tirupparankundram seats and the polling would be held from 7am to 6pm on Sunday.

A total of 137 candidates were in fray for the four seats, including 63 in Aravakurichi, 37 in Tirupparankundram, 22 in Sulur and 15 in Ottapidaram. Among them were 101 independents. Official sources said all arrangements have been put in place for the by-elections to be held in 324 polling booths in Sulur, 250 booths in Aravakurichi, 297 in Tirupparankundram, and 257 booths in Ottapidaram Assembly constituencies.

Out of this, 130 booths in Sulur, 29 in Aravakurichi, 88 in Tirupparankundram and 54 in Ottapidaram have been identified
as sensitive and vulnerable and extra security personnel will
be deployed in these polling stations. Counting of votes would be taken up on May 23.

More than 15,000 security personnel, including 1,300 paramilitary
forces, 2,000 home guards, over 10,000 State police personnel
and over 2,500 special police personnel have been drafted for
poll duty on Sunday.

As for violation of the Model Code of Conduct in place in Coimbatore,
Karur, Madurai and Thoothukudi districts where these Assembly seats
were situated, 40 first information reports (FIR), including 31 cases
of defacement of property, six under various sections of the IPC and
three under sections of the Representation of People Act, have been
registered. UNI