AIADMK Chief whip meets Speaker to take action against party MLAs
Tamil Nadu

AIADMK Chief whip meets Speaker to take action against party MLAs

Agency News

Chennai, Apr 26 : Chief Whip of Ruling AIADMK S. Rajendran on Friday met Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P.Dhanapal and submitted a petition to take appropriate action against three legislators for their 'anti-party' activities. Speaking to reporters later, Mr Rajendran said he had met the Speaker and submitted a petition to take action against three legislators- A.Prabhu (Kallakuruchi constituency), Rathinasabapathy (Aranthangi) and V.T. Kalaiselvan (Virudhachalam) for their anti-party activities.

Mr Rajendran said the party had got more proof of their anti-party activities and hence he submitted a petition to the Speaker. He said photographs of the legislators with AMMK General Secretary T.T.V.Dhinakaran have been submitted to the Speaker. The AIADMK Chief Whip said, by-election for 18 assembly constituencies were held on April 18 and the bypoll for four more assembly constituencies is slated on May 19.

In the 234 member Tamil Nadu assembly, the ruling AIADMK has 114 members (including the Speaker), DMK-88, Congress-8, and the IUML and Independents one each. To attain a simple majority, the AIADMK has to win just four seats in the by-election. After taking into account the switching of camps by some of the lawmakers, the AIADMK has to win seven or eight seats in order to be safe.

On the other hand, the DMK has to win all the 22 seats to take the tally, along with its allies -Congress and IUML - to 119, just one number more than the simple majority. DMK President M.K.Stalin in his campaign said there will be a change of government in Tamil Nadu once there is a change in the Central government. Analysts are of the view that even if T.T.V.Dhinakaran’s AMMK wins a couple of seats, the DMK's dream of coming to power by toppling the AIADMK government may not come true. When queried whether the AIADMK party is seeking action against the three legislators as it was not confident of winning the required number of seats in the by-election, Mr Rajendran said the 'party will win all the seats it has contested'. (UNI)