TN appoints Lok Ayukta
Tamil Nadu

TN appoints Lok Ayukta

S Murari

The Tamil Nadu Government, after dragging its feet for months, has appointed retired Madras High Court judge P Devadas as the Lok Ayukta who will go into complaints against public servants, including the Chief Minister.

Retired district judges K Jayapalan and R Krishnamurthi will be the judicial members of the Lok Ayukta. Retired IAS officer Rajaram and senior advocate K Arumugham will be non-judicial members. With this the search for the Lok Ayukta has come into an end.

Though the Lok Ayukta Act came into force in November last year, the search committee the Chief Minister and the Leader of the Opposition as well the Assembly Speaker, took time to finalise the names.

President of the DMK and Leader of the Oppositon M K Stalin has called it a tooth act as the Lok Ayukta proceedings will be held in camera and anyone making baseless allegations can be prosecuted.

As the election process is on and the model code of conduct is in force, Chief Minister Edappadi K Palanisami made the appointments with the prior clearance from the Election Commission. Though the Government wrote to the EC on March 25 regarding the appointments, it got permission only on Sunday. It was conveyed by the EC through the State Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo.