Over 900 vie for 39 LS seats from TN
Tamil Nadu

Over 900 vie for 39 LS seats from TN

Agency News

As many as 932 candidates are left in the field for the 39 Lok Sabha seats from Tamil Nadu after scrutiny of nominations, State Chief Electoral Officer Satyabrata Sahoo told reporters here on Thursday. This may come down on Friday after withdrawals. The final list will be released on Saturday.

Sahoo said 305 nominations have been accepted for the 18 Tamil Nadu Assembly by-elections.

A maximum of 43 nominations have been found valid in Karur, the constituency from where Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai is contesting as a candidate of the AIADMK-BJP front.

Nilgiris, from where former Union Telecom Minister and DMK candidate A Raja is contesting, has the least number of just ten nominations.

On the by-election to the Tamil Nadu Assembly Tiruparankundram, Aravakurichi and Otapidraram, he said it was for the Election Commission had to take a call on this. The EC told the Supreme Court on Thursday in response to a petition that it is not possible to hold by-polls in these constituencies along with the Lok Sabha polls scheduled for April 18.

Pendency of cases is the common ground cited by EC for putting the bypolls on hold.  The election of Tiruparakundram AIADMK candidate AK Bose has been set aside by the Madras High Court.  In any case, he died before the verdict.

The successful AIADMK candidate from Aravakurichi Senthil Balaji has since been disqualified after his defection to the T T T Dinakaran’s camp. He is now with the DMK

In Ottapidaram, Puthiya Tamizhagam candidate Dr Krishnaswamy has challenged the victory of the AIADMK candidate. As he has since joined the AIADMK alliance, the by-poll can be held once he withdraws his case.

Sahoo said flying squads had so far seized Rs 50 crore cash and Rs 9 crore worth gold and silver during vehicle checks.

They are returned to concerned persons once they produce documents. Or else, the cash is given to the income-tax department for follow-up action and ornaments deposited in the treasury.