Key candidates, heavyweights in fray; LS polls picks up steam in TN
Tamil Nadu

Key candidates, heavyweights in fray; LS polls picks up steam in TN

Agency News

Chennai, Mar 25 : With just one more day left for the filing of nominations for the April 18 Lok Sabha polls and bypoll to 18 Assembly seats, prominent candidates of various parties filed their papers on Monday.

Leaders of both the ruling AIADMK-led Front, which also has the BJP, PMK, DMDK, NJP, PT and TMC, and those of the Opposition DMK-led Secular Progressive Alliance that consists of Congress, IUML, VCK, MDMK, CPI, CPI(M), IJK and KDMK filed their papers.

Among political heavyweights who filed their papers, included Senior AIADMK eader and Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai (Karur), BJP State Unit President Tamiliasi Soundararajan (Tuticorin), BJP National Secretary H Raja (Sivaganga), C P Radhakrishnan (Coimbatore), Puthiya Tamizhagam leader Dr K Krishnasamy (Tenkasi-R), DMK Rajya Sabha Member Kanimozhi (Tuticorin), Ms Thamizhachi Thangapandian (South Chennai), ex-Union Minister A Raja (Nilgiris-R), Congress leader and former Union Minister P Chidambaram's son Karti Chidambaram (Sivaganga),

Su Thirunavukkarasar (Trichy), former Union Minister E V K S Elangovan (Theni), Jothimani (Karur), VCK leader Thol Thirumavalavan (Chidmabaram-R).

Candidates of actor Kamal Haasan's Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) and AMMK of sidelined leader TTV Dhinakaran, who were facing the elections alone, also filed their papers. Candidates of various parties also filed nomination papers for the bye-elections to 18 Assembly seats, which also goes to polls on April 18.

The last date for filing of nominations is tomorrow and the scrutiny would take place the next day. The last date of withdrawals is March 29 after which the final list of candidates in the fray would be known. Meanwhile, campaigning reached a feverish pitch across the State with top leaders of the AIADMK and the DMK canvassing votes for their respective candidates.

AIADMK Joint Coordinator and Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami, Coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam, leading AIADMK after the demise of J Jayalalithaa, their cabinet colleagues hit the campaign trail in several parts of the State, while M K Stalin, leading the party for the first time in the elections after taking over as DMK President, and other DMK leaders also canvassed votes for their party candidates.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had already addressed three meetings in the State as part of campaign for the AIDMK-led Front, AICC President Rahul Gandhi too launched the DMK Front's campaign last week.

As the polling day nears, more National leaders, including BJP leaders and Union Ministers Piyush Goyal and Nirmala Sitharaman, besides UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and her daugther Priyanka were scheduled to address rallies as part of the campaign in the coming days. (UNI)