Move to suspend 20 DMK legislators to save Govt
Move to suspend 20 DMK legislators to save Govt
Tamil Nadu

AIADMK releases full list, to take on DMK in 8 out of 20


The All India Anna DMK on Sunday released the complete list of 39 seats from Tamil Nadu and one Puducherry seat its front is contesting in the coming Lok Sabha elections.

The list released by party coordinator O Pannerselvam and joint coordinator Edappadi K Palanisami , includes its 20 seats, and seven given to PMK, five to the BJP, four to the DMDK and one each to the Tamil Manila Congress, the Puthiya Needhi Katchi and the Puthiya Tamizhagam.,

The Puducherry seat has been given to the N R Congress.

The BJP has been safe seats of its choice—Sivaganga, communally sensitive Coimbatore, Ramanathapuram, Kanyakumari and Thoothukudi. All but Coimbatore are in southern Tamil Nadu.

Sivaganga may see BJP national secretary H Raja take on senoir Congress leader P Chidambaram if they are given seat. Chidambaram is also reportedly lobbying for his son Karti Chidambaram. In which, the BJP's task will become easier.

Kanyakumari was won by Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan in 2014. Like Kanyakumari, Thoothukudi is also in the Nadar belt, a community to which Radhakrishnan as well as State BJP president Tamilisai Soundarajan belong.

Thoothukudi is the only seat where the DMK will be taking on the BJP. The party's Rajya Sabha member Kanimozhi is an aspirant. She is also a Nadar.

The AIADMK has stuck to safe seats and yet is locked in contest with rival DMK in eight constituencies. Out of the three seats in the capital, it is contesting only from Chennai South where it will lock horns with the DMK

It has chosen seven seats n the Kongu belt, its traditional stronghold. They are Salem, Namakkal, Krishnagiri , Erode, Tiruppur, Pollachi and Karur ( seat of Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai). It is also contesting from Nilgiris which is in the same belt but not dominated by Gounders but where the two Kazhagam as as well the Congress have presence.

It is contesting seven seats in northern Tamil Nadu—Tiruvallur, Kanchipuram, Arani, Tiruvannamalai, Chidambaram ( R) and Perambalur.

It is venturing into Nagapattinam and Mayiladuthurai in the the Cauvery delta region, confident that the relief works it had done after the devastation wrought by the Gaja cyclone will pay it electoral dividend.

In southern Tamil Nadu where it is considered strong, it is contesting only from Madurai, Theni and Tirunelvali, fearing that the rebel leader T T V Dinakaran’s Amma Makkal Katchi may cut into its votes and thereby help the DMK. Of the three, Theni is the home district of Deputy Chief Minister O Pannerselvam.

Of the seven seats given to the PMK, Dharmapuri, Villupuram, Arakkonam and Cuddalore are in the Vanniar belt where it is strong. However, it has been given Central Chennai, Sriperumpudur and Dindigul where it may find the going tough.

The Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam of actor Vijayakanth has been given Kallakurichi, Tiruchi, North Chennai (a labour area) and Virudhunagar.

Besides Thanjavur has been given to the Tamil Manila Congress, Tenkasi to Puthiya Tamizhagam of Dr Krishnaswamy and Vellore to Puthiya Needhi Katchi of A C Shanmugham.

Prominent among the eight seats where the AIADMK and the DMK will be clashing are South Chennai, Salem, Polllachi, Nilgiris and Tirunelveli. Prominent seats where the DMK will be taking on PMK are Dharmapuri, Arakkonam and Central Chennai.

The DMK will clash with DMDK in Kallakurichi and North Chennai. It will take on Puthiya Needhi Katchi in Vellore, TMC in Thanjavur and Puthiya Tamizhagam in Tenkasi .