MDMK fields ex-MP from Erode
Tamil Nadu

MDMK fields ex-MP from Erode


Marumalarchi DMK general secretary Vaiko on Saturday announced former MP A Ganesamurthi as its candidate for Erode in the coming Lok Sabha elections.

Ganesamurthi , two-time MP represented Palani in 1998 to 99 and Erode from 2009 to 14.

The MDMK won as ally of the AIADMK-BJP NDA in1998. Apart from Ganesamurthi, Vaiko also won. In 2009, AIADMK under Jayalalitha aligned with the MDMK, PMK and the two communist parties. And Ganesamurthi was the only winner.

This time around MDMK is with the DMK led secular front. The DMK has given one Lok Sabha seat and a Rajya Sabha seat to the MDMK.