Stalin lists seats of DMK and allies
Tamil Nadu

Stalin lists seats of DMK and allies


The DMK president M K Stalin on Friday announced the list of seats his party and its allies will be contesting from Tamil Nadu in the comin Lok Sabha elections .

Talking to reporters, Stalin said candidates would be announced in a couple of days . As the DMK drew a blank in 2014 with AIADMK winning 37 out of 39 seats from Tamil Nadu and the other two, Kanyakumari going to BJP( Pon Radhakrishnan ) and Dharmapur to the PMK leader( Anbumani Ramadoss) , it is contesting only 20 seats, leaving the remaining 19 seats from Tamil Nadu to allies. It has given the lone Puducherry seat to the Congress which it won last time.

Among the seats the DMK contesting are North, Central and South Chennai,—considered its stronghold till Jayalalitha made inroads into it in 2014.

The DMK will also contest from Kancheepuram (R), Vellore, Tiruvannamalai,Arakkonam, Cuddalore, Sriperumbudur and Kallakurichi, all in northern Tamil Nadu where its allies Dalit party Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi and the Congress have presence.

It is also contesting from Mayiladuthurai and Thanjavur in the Cauvery delta region where it has always fared well and where the Congress is also relatively strong.

On the western Kongu belt which has always been the stronghold of the AIADMK, the DMK is contesting from Salem, Dharmapuri, Nilgiris (R) and Pollachi and Dindugul.

In the southern Tamil Nadu where will face challenge from Thevar-based AIADMK, the DMK has confined itself to Nadar-dominatred Tuticorin, Tenkasi (R) and Tirunelveli.

The Congress will contest from Tiruvallur near Chennai,  Aarani, Tiruchi and Karur in northern Tamil Nadu. It will also contest from Krishnagiri in western Tamil Nadu as well Sivaganga in southern Tamil Nadu which is the traditional seat of senior leader P Chidambaram.

Besides, the Congress is also contesting from Theni ( the constituency of AIADMK coordinator O Pannerselvam) as it has a strong candidate in Haroon because it has Muslim pockets.

The Congress is also contesting from Virudhunagar which was the district of Kamaraj, as also Kanyakumari where national parties always had a tole thanks to Kerala influence.

The Congress is also contesting from Union Territory of Puducherry where it won in 2014. The Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi of Dalit leader Thol Thirumavalan has got Villupuram and Chidambaram( R ), both in northern Vanniar belt where it has its base.

Among the other allies, the MDMK led by Vaiko will contest from Erode in the Kongu belt while it is strong only in deep south.

On the other hand, the CPM will contest from Coimbatore and Madurai, its strong hold, while the CPI will contest in hosiery town of Tiruppur and Nagapattinam (R) in the Cauvery delta whre it has a strong following among landless labourers.

The Indian Muslim League will contest from Ramanathapuram in deep south where it can bank on Muslim pockets.

The Kongunadu Desiya Makkal Katchi (KDMK) has been allotted Namakkal which is in the Kongu belt.

The Indhiya Jananayaga Katchi (IJK) has been given Perambalur, near Tiruchi where its leader Pachamuthu has influence among Udayars.

Stalin said the party's manifesto would be released in the next four days. He said a separate manifesto would be released for the 18 Assembly by-elections being held along with the LS polls.