CPM fields Tamil writer S.Venkatesan in Madurai
Tamil Nadu

CPM fields Tamil writer S.Venkatesan in Madurai


The CPIM which is contesting two seats from Tamil Nadu in alliance with the DMK, on Friday announced that it would field Tamil writer S Venkatesan in Madurai and former Member of Parliament R R Natarajan from Coimbatore.

Meanwhile, the Indian Union Muslim League leader Khadar Moideen announced it was fielding its local leader Nawaz Ghani from Ramanathapuram.

Venkatesan won the Sahitaya Akademy award in 2011 for his novel Kaval Kottam, tracing the history of Madurai from 1310 to 1920. Natarajan represented Coimbatore from 2009 as part of the AIADMK alliance led by J Jayalalitha. The Madurai seat was won by equally popular candidate Mohan that year.

The CPIM won two seats in 2004, Madurai and Nagercoil, as part of the DMK-Congress alliance which won all 39 seats from Tamil Nadu, plus Puducherry. The AIADMK won 37 out of 39 seats in 2014.