TMC joins AIADMK alliance for one seat
Tamil Nadu

TMC joins AIADMK alliance for one seat


The Tamil Manila Congress (TMC) on Wednesday signed an alliance with the AIADMK, agreeing to contest for one seat in the Lok Sabha elections.

The agreement was signed by AIADMK coordinator O Pannerselvam and joint coordinator Edpapadi K Palanisami and TMC chief GK Vasan. The TMC also agreed to support to the AIADMK candidates for the coming by-elections for the 21 Assembly constituencies.

With this the AIADMK has finalised the alliance. It has given seven seats to the PMK, five to the BJP, four to the DMDK and one seat each to the TMC, the Puthiya Tamizhagam of Dr Krishnaswamy and the Indhiya Janayaka Katchi of its leader and SRM university chairman Pachamuthu.

The AIADMK is left with 20 seats out of 39 from Tamil Nadu. It has given one seat from the Puducherry to the N R Congress. The TMC under the leadership of G K Moopanar was born in 1996 in revolt with the Congress alliance with the AIADMK under the leadership of Jayalalitha . The DMK-TMC won 40 out of 40 seats from Tamil Nadu and Puducherry in that election and also the DMK came to power and the TMC emerged as the main opposition.

Its decline started after the DMK aligned with the BJP in 1999. The TMC went alone and drew a blank. An ailing Moopanar reluctantly aligned with the AIADMK in 2001, holding that “communalism is a greater danger than corruption”.

After Moopanar’s death, te TMC later merged with the Congress and Vasan served as a Minister in the UPA Government. However, he later broke away from the Congress and revived the TMC. He has taken it back to the AIADMK yet again, indirectly aligning with the BJP unlike his father Moopanar who remained a Congressman and a Rajiv Gandhi-Sonia loyalist.