DMK gives 9 TN seats and Puducherry to Congress
Tamil Nadu

DMK gives 9 TN seats and Puducherry to Congress


The DMK and the Congress on Wednesday signed an agreement to contest the coming Lok Sabha elections as allies. The Congress would contest nine seats from Tamil Nadu as part of the DMK led front and from the lone seat in the Union Territory of Puducherry which is holding.

The agreement was signed by DMK president M K Stalin and Tamil Nadu Congress Committee president K S Alagiri at Anna Arivalayam in the presence of AICC leaders Mukul Wasnik and K Venugopal and senior DMK leaders Durai Murugan and T R Balu.

Talking to reporters, Stalin said constituencies would be identified a few days “as we expect some more parties to join this alliance”.

Apparently referring to the two communist parties and the MDMK and the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi, he said efforts would be made to rope in these parties.

Wasnik said “the Congress is fully satisfied” with the seat allocation. “We expect a strong victory in Tamil Nadu”.

Wasnik said the people of India wanted a change as all sections had been affected by the Modi Government in the last five years.  In Tamil Nadu where people “are fed up” with Modi and the :”corrupt” AIADMK Government, he said,

The agreement marked revival of the alliance between the two parties after they parted in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections and both were routed with the AIADMK under J Jayalalitha winning 37 out of 39 seats from Tamil Nadu, the other two going to PMK leader Anbumani Ramadoss and BJP leader Pon Radhakrishnan who were part of a third front. The Congress, however, won the Puducherry seat.

The DMK and Congress faced the subsequent Tamil Nadu Assembly polls in 2016 together after Stalin led the front as working president of the DMK.

The alliance was very expected as Stalin had proclaimed Congress president Rahul Gandhi as the Prime Minister face in the coming election.