AIADMK forms panel for seats-sharing talks
Tamil Nadu

AIADMK forms panel for seats-sharing talks


The ruling AIADMK on Wednesday formed three committees to hold talks with like-minded parties on seats-sharing for the Lok Sabha elections, to prepare manifesto and draw up the campaign plank.

The main panel on holding talks on firming alliance will have deputy coordinators K P Munuswamy and R Vaithalingam and Ministers P Thangamani and S P Velumani and organizing secretary J P S Prabhakaran.

Ministers D Jayakumar and C V Shanmugham, former Ministers C Ponnaiyan andNatham Viswanathan, organizing secretaries S Semmalai and Manoj Pandian and former Rajya Sabha member Rabi Bernard have been tasked with the preparation of the manifesto.

The campaign committee will headed by Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker M Thambidurai and will have as members Ministers K A Sengottayan and Dindigal Srinivasan, former Ministers P Valarmathi, Gokul Indira and Vaigal Selvan, Parlliamentary Party leader P Venugapal will be the coordinator.

The formation of these three committees were announced by party coordinator O Pannerselvam and Deputy Coordinator Edappadi K Palanisami.

With months to go for the Lok Sabha polls, the party is divided on going with the BJP as even senior Minister D Jayakumar has said a decision will be taken on the basis of consensus and Thambidurai has openly come out against it.

Just before he was included in the campaign committee, Thambidurai told reporters that he had every right to counter the campaign of BJP national president Amit Shah if he persisted with the charge that AIADMK and the DMK were both corrupt.

Reacting to Republican Party of India leader Ram Athuwala’s statement in New Delhithat the AIADMK would join the BJP led NDA, Jayakumar said the issue was yet to be decided. The RPI(A) is a member of the NDA.

Senior BJP leader P Muralidhara Rao told reporters in Madurai on Wednesday that no decision had been taken and though Athwala was a senior Dalit leader from Maharashtra, he could not speak for the BJP.