“Disqualified MLAs won’t appeal against HC verdict, will face by-poll,” says TTV Dhinakaran
Tamil Nadu

“Disqualified MLAs won’t appeal against HC verdict, will face by-poll,” says TTV Dhinakaran

Agency News

Madurai, Oct 31: Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) Deputy General Secretary TTV Dhinakaran on Wednesday announced that the 18 disqualified MLAs supporting him will not appeal against the upholding of their disqualification by the Madras High Court.

Talking to newsmen here, he said "instead of challenging the Madras HC verdict in the Supreme Court, they will contest the by-election and emerge victorious."

"We are ready to face by-election to all the 18 assembly constituencies, besides the Tiruvarur and Tirupparankundram constituencies anytime," he said.

(Tiruvarur and Tirupparankumdram assembly constituencies fell vacant due to the demise of DMK patriarch M.Karunanidhi and AIADMK legislator A.K.Bose).

Responding to the comments made by AIADMK that the MLAs, who sided with the AMMK leader have "come on the streets" and would lose their deposit if they contest in by-election, Mr.Dhinakaran said they (AIADMK) said the same thing even during the RK Nagar by-poll (where Dhinakaran won by defeating the ruling AIADMK and the Opposition the DMK candidates).

AIADMK would be the one who would be fighting to retain deposit in the by-election if held, as the people were on our (AMMK) side. The AIADMK will not win even a single seat, even if they bribe voters with lakhs of rupees, he said.

Mr.Dhinakaran's announcement came in contrary to the decision taken by all the 18 ousted AIADMK legislators, who had pledged allegiance to him.

On October 26, Mr.Dhinakaran held discussions with the disqualified legislators in Madurai, after which his staunch supporter and one of the disqualified MLA, M.Thanga Tamilselvan, told media that they have decided to go for an appeal against their disqualification to reveal to the world what the Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P.Dhanapal done was wrong.

Thanga Tamilselvan further said "the decision to appeal against the Madras HC verdict was "unanimous" and accepted with joy by all the 18 ousted MLAs," as their lawyer had pointed out several flaws in the HC verdict.

The 18 legislators, owing allegiance to Mr.Dhinakaran were disqualified, after they submitted a memorandum to then State Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao on August 22, 2017, expressing no confidence in the leadership of Chief Minister Edappadi K.Palaniswami, withdrawing their support to him and leveling corruption allegation against him.

The AIADMK chief whip issued letter to the Speaker to disqualify all the 18 MLAs under anti-defection law, following which the ruling party announced disqualification of the rebel MLAs. (UNI)