Move afoot to disqualify Karunas, three others
Tamil Nadu

Move afoot to disqualify Karunas, three others


The Edappadi Palanisamy Government plans to crack the whip against actor-politician Karunas and three other pro-Dinakaran legislators by getting Speaker S. Dhanapal to issue a show-cause notice to them under the anti-defection law.

The Speaker has already disqualified 18 legislators owing allegiance to rebel leader and Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam chief T T V Dinakaran and the Madras High Court verdict on his action is expected any time now.

The decision to get Karunas and others disqualified was taken at a high-level meeting held at the Secretariat on Saturday, attended by the Speaker, Chief Minister Palanisamy and Deputy O Pannerselvam, Law Minister C V Shanmugham and two other Ministers, besides AIADMK whip R Rajendran.

Advocate-General Vijaya Narayanan was also called in to consult him on what will be the legal consequences of such an action when a similar case is awaiting the high court verdict. At the meeting, Rajendran furnished proof of anti-party activities of Karunas and three other MLAs-- Prabhu, Rathnasapabathi and Kalaiselvan. The charge is that these rebels are keeping in touch with Dinakaran even though he has been expelled from the party,

The immediate provocation was the diatribe launched by Karunas against the Chief Minister at a recent public meeting in Chennai. He was promptly arrested and is now on bail. As he is continuing the attack on the government, it has been decided to silence him through drastic action.

Karunas got elected to the Assembly from Tiruvadanai on the AIADMK symbol. He has since shifted loyalty to Dinakaran .Two other legislators, Thamimun Ansari and Thennarasu, have also been elected on AIADMK symbol, but they are supporting the Government.

The Speaker has already got a letter from AIADMK whip Rajendran to initiate action against Karunas and the other three MLAs.. He will now have to issue show-cause notice to them. Further action will depend on their response. If they express regret, they may be let off. If they refuse, then only will the Speaker disqualify them.

The Government has already been reduced to minority after the disqualificiaon of 18 pro-Dinakaran legislators. It is surviving as it has working majority on the basis of current strength of the House. As the DMK-led opposition does not have the numbers to vote it out, the Government is carrying on.