Biplab Deb sworn in as new Tripura CM
Biplab Deb sworn in as new Tripura CM

Biplab Deb sworn in as new Tripura CM


Ending the 25-year of uninterrupted rule of the CPI(M)-led Left Front, a fresh whiff of change wafted through the North Eastern state of Tripura today with BJP's young 'Turk' Biplab Deb sworn in as the tenth Chief Minister of the state.

Governor Tathagata Roy administered the oath of office and secrecy to 48-year-old Deb at a function at Assam Rifles Ground adjacent to Raj Bhawan. Jishnu Deb Barma, a scion of the royal family and a tribal, took oath as the Deputy Chief Minister. Seven Cabinet Ministers also took oath along with the Chief Minister.

The Ministers were N C Debbarma, Ratan Lal Nath, Sudip Roy Barman, Pranajit Singhaa Roy, Manoj Kanti Deb, Mebar Kumar Jaamatiya and Santana Chakma. Deb said, ' I need the blessings of all dignitaries to implement the commitment, mentioned in the vision documents of the BJP. 'He also waxed eloquent about the media in the state, saying, ' The journalists have played a remarkable role and their help is very important. '

People across the state poured into the ground to witness the ceremony. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party veterans L K Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi, besides Amit Shah, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and several other dignitaries from different states were present in the star-studded swearing-in ceremony.Outgoing Chief Minister of Tripura Manik Sarkar was also present in the programme, though other Left leaders preferred to give it a miss.

It was a remarkable performance for the BJP, which had no MLAs in the outgoing Assembly and polled just 1.5 per cent votes in the 2013 elections, losing deposits in 49 of the 50 constituencies it contested, secured over 42 per cent of votes on February 18, 2018, Tripura elections.The BJP, which bagged 35 of the 60 seats, has chosen the Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT) as its alliance partner, which notched up eight seats, in this tribal-dominated northeastern state sharing its border with Bangladesh.