Kodiyeri is CPI(M)state secretary for second time
Kodiyeri is CPI(M)state secretary for second time

Kodiyeri is CPI(M)state secretary for second time


The state CPI(M) conference today elected Kodiyeri Balakrishan as Secretary for a second time.

The 87-member State committee elected on the concluding day of the conference has ten new faces while nine of them, who were members, have been dropped.

Education Minister C Raveendranth is prominent among those dropped from the state committee.

The new faces are Mohammed Riyaz, M V Sahser, C H Kunjambu, Girija Surendran, Gopi Kottamurikkal, K Somaprasad, K V Ramakrishnan and R Nazeer.

V S Achuthanandan and four others are special invitees, he said adding the election was unanimous.

Kodiyeri said the draft report adopted firmly rejected any electoral alliance with the Congress. Media reports attributing Party General Secretary Sitaram Yechuri,who is reportedy lashed at some party delegates on Saturday on the issue was "not true and mischievous. Somebody is misleading the media",he added.

He said the CPI(M) is capable of challenging the onslaught of the BJP-RSS and the party will check any move by fascist parties.

He said the state conference has chalked out a 45-point plan to be implemented with the support of the people.

Kodiyeri said the state conference reviewed the functioning of the 20-month old LDF government and included some more to be implemented with the actiive support of the people.

He said there was no discussion on admitting Kerala Congress led by K M Mani into the LDF. There is no immediate plan for a reshuffle of the cabinet right now, he added.

The conference will end in the evening with a public rally which will be attended by more than one lakh people and 25,000 red volunteers. The rally will be addressed by CPI(M) leaders Sitaram Yechuri, Prakash Karat, S Ramachandran Pillai and Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan.