Punjab civic polls: Voting begins
Punjab civic polls: Voting begins

Punjab civic polls: Voting begins


Voting for three municipal corporations and 32 municipal councils in Punjab began on Sunday. Around 29% voter turnout recorded till 12pm in Jalandhar.

The polling began at 8 am and will continue till 4 pm. The results will be declared on Sunday evening, officials from the State Election Commission, said in Chandigarh.

The main contest is among the ruling Congress, main opposition Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (SAD-BJP)alliance. Local issues of towns and cities and the respective wards dominated the campaigning for the municipal elections.

The voting is being held for three municipal corporations of Amritsar, Jalandhar, and Patiala, and 32 municipal councils and nagar panchayats.