MP bypoll: Chitrakoot electorate hold Congress' 'hand'
MP bypoll: Chitrakoot electorate hold Congress' 'hand'

MP bypoll: Chitrakoot electorate hold Congress' 'hand'


Madhya Pradesh's Chitrakoot Assembly constituency's electorate favoured the 'hand' even as the 'lotus' failed to bloom with the principal-opposition Congress retaining the seat and the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) being relegated to the second spot in a toughly-contested by-election.

Nilanshu Tirvedi defeated his nearest rival Mr Shankar Dayal Tripathi by a margin of approximately 14,000 votes as counting concluded this afternoon. Trivedi garnered 66,810 votes as against over 52,600 votes fetched by Tripathi. During the counting, the Congress was leading by a margin of 20,000 votes at one point of time but the margin reduced in later stages, official sources said.

The bypoll became inevitable, following the death of Congress candidate Prem Singh. A total of 12 candidates – including nine independents – were in the fray. Admitting defeat, Madhya Pradesh BJP president Nand Kumar Singh Chauhan said, "The party would review its loss."

On the other hand, state Congress president Arun Yadav and Assembly's Leader of the Opposition Ajay Singh expressed happiness over the result. The leader duo attributed the outcome to coordinated and dedicated efforts of party workers and leaders. Senior Congress leaders Jyotiraditya Scindia and Kamal Nath too expressed happiness over the victory stating the people in the state are now fed up with the BJP rule. Hundreds of Congress workers and leaders gathered outside the state Congress office and celebrated the victory.