Gokulam Kerala FC win the title in Indian Women’s League

Gokulam Kerala FC win the title in Indian Women’s League

Agency News

Bengaluru: Gokalam Kerala FC has won the title of Indian Women’s League beating KRYPHSA FC in the final (3-2).

In a thrilling final, Gokulam’s forward Sabitra Bhandari made the winning goal to lead her team to clinch their maiden Indian Women's League title on Friday.

When the play began, Gokulam’s Prameshwari shocked the opponents firing home in the very first minute. Around the middle of the first half, Kamala Devi raised the lead with a wonderful knock that beat the KRPHSA FC goalkeeper (2-0).

When the match was moving one-sided, the Manipuri outfit got a self goal advantage from Manisa Panna in the 33rd minute(2-1). Charged with this goal, KRYPHSA forwards upped their attack which resulted in a goal when Ratanbala netted home in the 75th minute (2-2). But very soon, Gokulam's Nepali striker Sabitra Bhandari netted home the winning goal.

Gokulam became the first Kerala team to clinch a national league title. In the semifinal clash Gokulam had beaten title champions Sethu FC 3-0.