Hemel Cosme, Ron Manilla elected to PTR Board of Directors

Hemel Cosme, Ron Manilla elected to PTR Board of Directors

Agency News

Hilton Island ( South Carolina), Feb 13 : Professional Tennis Registry (PTR) has elected Hemel Cosme and Ron Manilla as new members of the PTR Board of Directors for a term of three-years.

The decision to elect Cosme and Manilla was taken at the organisation’s Annual General Membership Meeting on Wednesday.

Hemel Cosme is a native New Yorker with more than 35 years of experience teaching, coaching, operating and owns of the largest tennis facilities in New York.

Cosme is a graduate of the University of California Santa Barbara where she was on a tennis scholarship. She has worn many hats as a junior player, college player and pro player on the WTA Tour.

Most recently, she has been a director of tennis and business owner. She managed one of the biggest public tennis facilities - Central Park Tennis Center - for more than 10 years and during her tenure, was honored with the prestigious PTR Public Facility of the Year Award.

For the past 20 years, Cosme has owned and operated Alley Pond Tennis Center, a 16 court indoor/outdoor public facility in Queens Village, New York. While Ron Manilla a member since 1979, is a PTR International Master Professional.

He was the Director of Tennis at The Sports Center at Boar’s Head Resort for more than 12 years, managing the nationally recognized facility with 12 indoor, 10 Har-Tru and four outdoor courts and overseeing a budget of more than 800,000 dollars.

During his time, Manilla created a Junior Elite Program that produced collegiate level athletes. Currently, Manilla serves as the club’s Tournament Director, managing aspects of WTA, ATP and ITA tournaments, as well as Special Olympics competitions and USTA Sectionals.

For 30 years, he has been active in the Charlottesville Tennis Association, and is the organization’s Past President. Cosme and Manilla join current Directors-at-Large Leo Alonso, Lynne Rolley and Martin Van Daalen. Karl Hale is President, Delaine Mast is Vice President, Ken DeHart is Secretary, and Jack Waite is Treasurer. (UNI)