ESPNcricinfo names Eoin Morgan captain of the year

ESPNcricinfo names Eoin Morgan captain of the year

Agency News

New Delhi, Feb 10 : Eoin Morgan, who led England to their maiden ODI World Cup title in 2019 was named captain of the year by the ESPNcricinfo on Monday. After losing to Sri Lanka and Australia in the tournament, Morgan led England needed to win four consecutive games to win the ICC World Cup 2019, which they eventually did, winning the title after a tied thriller against New Zealand at the Lords.

England all-rounder Ben Stokes won the ODI batting performance of the year award for his nerveless performance in the World Cup final. He made an unbeaten 84 in the regulation 50 overs and a further seven in the Super Over. At the 13th edition of the annual ESPNcricinfo Awards, pacer Matt Henry, whose fiery threewicket spell in the World Cup semi-final helped Kiwis knock India out of the tournament , won the award for the ODI Bowling performance of the year.

In the Test batting category, Stokes' epic rearguard in the Headingley Ashes Test lost out narrowly to Kusal Perera who made the landmark 153 not out against South Africa in Durban to take the title. Sri Lanka were 52 for 3 chasing a steep 304 to win, when Kusal came in to bat in the fourth innings. With 9 wickets down and 78 runs to chase, Perera played one of his greatest knocks to see them home. Jofra Archer was voted the Debutant of the Year.

He also starred in the World Cup with threewicket hauls in five of England’s first six games and finished the tournament as their leading wicket-taker Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry of Australia won the women’s batting and bowling performances of the year awards, respectively. The winners, across the 12 categories, were selected by a jury comprising former cricketers such as Ian Chappell, Ajit Agarkar, Daniel Vettori, Mark Butcher, Michael Hussey, Daryll Cullinan, Russel Arnold, Shahriar Nafees, Isa Guha, Snehal Pradhan and Peter Borren, and ESPNcricinfo's senior editors, writers, and global correspondents. (UNI)