Ranji Trophy: Gujarat, Saurashtra qualify for quarterfinals

Ranji Trophy: Gujarat, Saurashtra qualify for quarterfinals

Agency News

New Delhi, Feb 9: Gujarat, Saurashtra qualified for the quarterfinals, while Bengal and Bihar registered wins as Round VIII of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20 came to an end on Friday.

In clash between Gujarat and Delhi, Gujarat had taken a first-innings lead of 42 runs, scoring 335 and helped them bag three points and also qualified for this season's Ranji Trophy quarterfinals.

After declaring at 333/8 in the second innings, Delhi set a 292-run target for Gujarat. Gujarat then were 128/2, with the first-innings centurion Manprit Juneja batting on 51 as the match ended in a draw, here on Friday.


In Rajkot, a Dharmendrasinh Jadeja-Kamlesh Makwana rearguard denied Mumbai a win and gave Saurashtra three points.

Mumbai had conceded a 73-run lead in the first innings. However, they scored 362/7d on the back of Suryakumar Yadav’s quickfire 134 and Shams Mulani’s 92.

Shashank Attarde and Mulani then shared the spoils as Mumbai reduced Saurashtra to 83/7 in the chase of 289.

However, Jadeja and Makwana, who stitched an unbeaten 75-run partnership, batted for close to 40 overs, scoring 33* off 125 and 31* off 116 balls.


Bengal sealed a sensational win to pocket six points, beating Rajasthan by two wickets. Benagl had conceded a 118-run win in the first innings.

However, Bengal bowlers kept their side in the game, limiting Rajasthan to 201. Bengal, who needed 320 runs to win, were 237/7 but Shahbaz Ahmed scored an unbeaten 61 to steer Bengal towards a victory. Arnab Nandi and Akash Deep, meanwhile, chipped in with 20 and 22 respectively.


Meanwhile in Patna, Rahmat Ullah, who scored hundreds in both the innings, starred as Bihar overcome their first-innings deficit to seal a six-wicket win over Arunachal Pradesh to bag six points. Despite conceding a 60-run lead in the first innings, Bihar kept their hopes alive as skipper Ashutosh Aman’s six-wicket haul helped them restrict Arunachal Pradesh to 163.

Needing 224 runs to win, Bihar were 15/3 before Rahmat Ullah, who had scored 140 in the first innings, once again came to Bihar’s rescue, scoring an unbeaten 113. He was ably supported by Vikash Ranjan, who scored 55*, as Bihar beat Arunachal Pradesh. (UNI)