Prithvi Shaw replaces Rohit Sharma to Indian Test squad for NZ series

Prithvi Shaw replaces Rohit Sharma to Indian Test squad for NZ series

Agency News

The absence of opener Rohit Sharma, will be filled by Prithvi Shaw in the Indian Test squad. The other two have been included in the 16-member team are Shubman Gill and pacer Navdeep Saini.

The presence of Ishant Sharma will depend on his fitness. For the ODI series against Kiwis, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) named Mayank Agarwal as the replacement for the injured Rohit Sharma.

Opener Prithvi Shaw, who made a scintillating performance for India A against New Zealand XI, has been called up to India's Test squad in absence of injured opener Rohit Sharma. Prithvi Shaw has also made a comeback to the Test side for the first time since getting suspended for a doping violation.

Fast bowler Ishant Sharma, who was earlier reported to be missing the series due to an injury, has also been named in the squad subject to attaining match-fitness.

Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma (subject to fitness clearance).

Before the 2-Tests series starts on February 21, the sides will play a 3-match ODI series starting Wednesday. Sharma had injured his calf during the final T20I against New Zealand on Sunday and as a result, he has been ruled out of both ODI and Test series.He underwent an MRI scan in Hamilton on Monday and will be referred to the National Cricket Academy for further management of his injury.

India white-washed the Kiwis 5-0 in the T20Is and both teams will now lock horns in the ODI series, beginning on Wednesday.