Nine Indians for British Junior Open Squash

Nine Indians for British Junior Open Squash

Agency News

Chennai, Dec 31: The Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) today said it has decided to curtail the entries (boys and girls) from India to nine this year, for the British Junior Open, the premier international squash event for juniors and held every January.

Considering that this is a prestigious tournament, the Federation believed it was time participation from the country should be restricted to the best performers of the year. Accordingly SRFI has decided to pick five players with the best record, not only in the National but Asian championship in 2019 for participation with financial benevolence from the Government, according to a SRFI release here.

Another four, who are all national champions in various age categories, have been given the nod for participation at their own costs.

Following is the team : Players to be funded by Government: 1.Veer Chotrani (Asian U-19 winner, 2019) 2.Yash Fadte (Asian U-19 silver medallist,2019) 3.Neel Joshi (Asian U-17 silver medallist, 2019) 4.Sanya Vats (Asian girls U-19 silver medallist) 5.Anahat Singh (Asian U-13 silver medallist) Players to participate at own cost: 1. Yuvraj Wadhwani (Boys U-15 national champion) 2. Aishwarya Khubchandani (Girls U-17 national champion) 3. Tiana Parasrampuria (Girls U-15 national champion) 4. Darshil Parasramp (Boys U-11 champion). (UNI)