Sanju Samson recalled to T20 squad; Shivam Dube to make debut

Sanju Samson recalled to T20 squad; Shivam Dube to make debut

Agency News

Mumbai, 25 Oct 2019: The prolific Sanju Samson and leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal returned to the Indian squad for the T20 Internationals against Bangladesh.

India captain Virat Kohli will not play as he wanted to rest from the upcoming three-match T20 series against Bangladesh. Mumbai all-rounder Shivam Dube will make his debut in the team.

The 24-year-old Samson from Kerala has played his only T20I, against Zimbabwe in 2015. A regular in the India A set up, Samson has been rewarded for a good Vijay Hazare Trophy season, having amassed 410 runs in eight innings, including a double-century earlier this month.

As all-rounder Hardik Pandya underwent a surgery in the UK for a back injury this month, the 26-year-old rookie Dube was included. Dube pipped Vijay Shankar as the second choice all-rounder, primarily based on his big-hitting prowess.

Chairman of the selection committee MSK Prasad said, "You can see, earlier we had Hardik Pandya, then we also tried Vijay Shankar. All of us agreed in unison that the role we have, he (Dube) fits in very well.”

"He bats aggressively, his performances in the India A Series in West Indies and also against South Africa in ODIs (for India A) was phenomenal. He has gone up by leaps and bounds, a notch higher and we are convinced about it."he said.

Rohit Sharma will lead the squad in Kohli's absence.

Apart from the three-match T20 series which starts in New Delhi on November 3, followed by matches at Rajkot and Nagpur on November 7 and 10 respectively, Bangladesh will also play two Tests as part of the World Championship, in Indore and Kolkata, from November 14-18 and November 22-26 respectively.

India's squad for T20I series against Bangladesh: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant(wk), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur

Squad for Test series against Bangladesh: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Saha (wk), R Jadeja, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant.