Karnataka lift Vijay Hazare Trophy

Karnataka lift Vijay Hazare Trophy

Agency News

Karnataka defeated Tamil Nadu by 60 runs via VJD method in a rain-marred final to lift the Vijay Hazare Trophy, for the fourth time, here on Friday.

Abhimanyu Mithun snared five wickets, including a hat-trick for Karnataka. Mithun registered an impressive feat of 5 for 34, which included a hat-trick in the final over, to bowl out Tamil Nadu for 252 in 49.5 overs after opting to bowl.

In the final, Tamil Nadu were bowled out for 252 before Karnataka replied with 146 for 1. Chasing the target, Karnataka were at 146 for one in 23 overs when rain intervened the play for 40 minutes. Later, based on VJD method, Karnataka was declared as champions of Vijay Hazare Trophy. Tamil Nadu lost by 60 runs.