Indian boxers finish with 21 medals Asian Junior C’ship

Indian boxers finish with 21 medals Asian Junior C’ship

Agency News

New Delhi, Oct 18 :  India's junior boxers finished their ASBC Asian Junior Championship campaign on a high with a rich haul of 21 medals which included 13 medals by the girls' team and eight medals by the boys' team, in the tournament at Fujairah, UAE.
While the girls contributed four gold, six silver and three bronze to the medal tally, the boys brought home with two gold, three silver and three bronze as the tournament concluded on Thursday.

The highly impressive performances also helped India clinch the No 1 position in the team rankings at the first-ever Junior Asian Challenge, where 21 top boxing nationals had participated.

Nation's Cup gold medallist Preeti Dahiya (60kg), one of the most talented upcoming Indian boxers, led the charge as she captured the gold after a gritty 3-2 win over Uzbekistan's Akhmedova Mokhira.

Kalpana had to work equally hard in 46kg to stave off the challenge of Thailand's Yodwaree Thipsatcha for a 3-2 win on her way to the gold.

Tanishbir Kaur Sandhu, who lost the 80kg final at the Nation's Cup, emerged as the champion with a dominant 5-0 victory over Chinese Taipei's Lin Chien Yu.
Meanwhile, Alfiya Pathan (80+ kg) also clinched gold after a strong 5-0 win over Kazakhstan's Diana Magauyayeva.

Tamanna, who too had won a gold at the Nation's Cup, couldn't replicate those heroics in 48kg. She had to be content with just a silver this time after a 0-5 loss to Uzbekistan's Sabina Bobokulova.

Apart from her, others who bagged the silver medal were Tannu (52kg), Neha (54kg), Khushi (63kg), Sharvari Kalyankar (70kg), and Khushi (75kg).Rinku (50kg), Ambeshori Devi (57kg) and Mahi Lama (66kg) contributed the bronze medals.

Among the boys, Suresh Visvanath showed his spirit and resilience in a tough 3-2 win over Philippines' Pamisa Eljay to take the gold in 46kg. Bishwamitra Chongtham had an easier path to the 48kg gold with his 5-0 win over Japan's Yuga Ozaki.

Yogesh Kagra (63kg), Jaydeep Rawat (66kg) and Rahul (70kg) all settled for silver after losing their respective finals. Vijay Singh (50kg), Victor Singh Shaikhom (52kg) and Vanshaj (60kg) collected the bronze medals.(UNI)